Zuck Was Right – Quest 3 *IS* Better Than Apple Vision Pro 😳

Several weeks ago I went to the Apple Store and checked out the Apple Vision Pro demo. It was amazing, but I wasn’t seriously considering actually buyng one any time soon. What it did do is convince me that I wanted wireless VR. My one complaint with my PSVR2 was having to always be mindful of that tether wire.

So I left Apple, ordered a Meta Quest 3 from Best Buy, and stopped to pick it up. Sometime between now and then, I got one for my youngest kid. Today, I ordered one for my oldest too (both have birthdays coming up the next two months, so I could justify it).

When Mark Zuckerberg did his #AppleVisionPro review and said the Quest 3 was better, you could say for the price and a couple specific things like games sure. However, a couple of months after Apple lit a fire under Meta’s ass, Zuck is closer to right than ever. There have been so many updates just since I got mine, this Q3 feels like a different beast – it is SO damn good now. From improvements in passthrough, hand tracking, to even spatial video, this machine absolutely rocks. I’ve now bought three of them for far less than half of an entry level Apple Vision Pro.

The Faceless Lady series on Meta TV shows how promising this format is for storytelling. Spatial concerts like a Bleachers show does the same for live events. Supernatural has become my go to for daily cardio workouts. Vader Immortal absolutely feels like you’re wielding a light saber. Watching movies and television alone or with other people in convincing theater environments in BigScreen Beta is legit. And there is a really fantastic, native YouTube app that is next-level – and not on AVP today.

Apple started with pretty incredible hardware, and just stopped. It’s like they forgot there was another part of the story of AVP. Meta has made sure there was an insane and continously growing amount of content, and keeps dialing in the hardware to perfection.

Y’all at least for this generation of mixed reality, Zuck was right. And I’m as surprised that I’m saying this as anyone.